What I Learned in March

Been absent from blogging for awhile now, but on this fresh spring morning, the urge to look back on this month, reflect and record is strong. Must be those awfully CHEERFUL birds outside my front door!

Joining up with Emily Freeman at chattingatthesky.com for this March remembrance:

  • I decided to tackle G.K. Chesteron’s book Orthodoxy, and because I am a simpleminded person, quickly discovered reading Chesteron can be like walking through a dark wood filled with unfamiliar flora and fauna. Chesteron’s writing begs me to pause, ponder, learn and grow…mainly in my vocabulary! So here are a few of the words that I either know and love, or those with which I was not well-acquainted, but would, perhaps, enjoy getting to know: nihilistic, ethos, prosaic, pragmatic, ambiguities, askance, blinkered (love this one! means “wearing blinders”).

I also loved this, “Solemnity flows out of men naturally, but laughter is a leap. It is easy to be heavy, hard to be light.”

Yep. Makes me want to do the hard thing – LEAP more – into laughter!

  • March brought windy days and splashes of color. I learned that…

IMG_2730

From a stick (bare-root lavender), beautiful growth, color and fragrance can spring forth. So God can take any barren part of my soul and breathe new life into it. He can, He does and He will continue to do so…miraculously.

IMG_2733

I also learned that it’s good to stand back a ways, in order to see the big picture of beauty, but sometimes…

I need to lean in more closely to marvel at God’s amazing detail. What beauty is God creating in the “close-up” parts of my life?

IMG_2735Last year, my husband trimmed an overgrown tree in our front courtyard. I mean he cut that baby down to nearly the ground. I grieved over all that lost foliage, and doubted if it would ever be the same.

IMG_2736

It isn’t the same…it’s healthier, smaller…but more robust, I think, as it comes back to life.

I wince when God prunes me – removes the junk branches, the dying foliage, the overgrown areas of my life that have become too complicated and twisted and stressful for my “tree.”

When will I learn to trust the Pruner’s shears? That He snips and removes out of the abundance of His great goodness and love for me.

  • I learned that there are over thirty-four varieties of grape-scented plants – flowering plants that actually smell like grape Kool-Aid! Who knew?
  • In March, I also learned that minky is a fun fabric, can be a bit tricky, but makes fun baby gifts:10930897_10206414109293817_5500645418639383534_n
  • I learned that Mary Beth Chapman has survived great heartache, and by God’s grace, has gone on to love and serve and be a light in this world…and fellow pilgrim for me…through her book Choosing to See.

  • I was reminded, through a week-long visit with my daughter in Texas, how very much I love this girl and admire her as a godly woman, wife, mother and friend to others.

10553765_636935151058_2641449567086341444_oAnd, of course, these little munchkins (aka, my granddaughters), brought me an abundance of joy and laughter!

                            Shopping                             Playground fun

  • I learned that this next season of Downton Abbey will be their last. I promptly donned sackcloth and ashes and crawled into a brief stage of mourning. I will miss these imaginary friends of mine!

10987437_10206265971310460_6130570911632507752_n

  • And lastly, I learned that I may be in love with the Indian spice, garam masala. I purchased some last week from the whole food market and it is now filling up my pantry with the most amazing aroma. I sometimes go in there just to inhale all its deliciousness and imagine I’m on the streets of Mumbai, draped in colorful scarves and riding in a rickshaw.

March was a time of rich blessing, that is for sure. Thank you, Lord – giver of all good gifts!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “What I Learned in March

  1. Beautiful list! I am currently reading (almost finished) Mary Beth’s book – heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time. God has done an amazing work of healing in their family. I too will miss the Downton crew but happy they will back for one last season. Love your plant pictures and the analogy God showed you from them. Happy last day of March : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Mindy! So kind of you to take the time to read and comment. I’m pretty new to this blogging business, so have much to learn! Happy April Fool’s Day to you!

      Like

  2. Vicki

    Loved your post and all the pictures!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Danny

    I learned that I’m to old to be doing what I’m doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. eggthoughts

    I love that quote about laughter!! And now i want to come over and smell your pantry! haha!
    Frances

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pam Fink

    A lovely piece of writing with many good things to ponder. If you haven’t seen “The Hundred Foot Journey” I think you would enjoy it. You could say it’s a little about Indian spices. …Light hearted and entertaining starring Helen Mirren, Manish Dayal, Om Puri, Charlotte Le Bon, and Amit Shah.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Britta Lafont

    How fun! I love that you have curated memories for this month. What a lovely read!!! 🙂

    Like

  7. That’s a posting full of intihgs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

